Call for consultation
CALL US NOW 800-242-0532
Tennessee Timeshare Laws
Please be advised that you should not act upon any of this information without seeking proper legal counsel from an attorney experienced in timeshare law. Roberts Law Group makes no representation or warranty regarding the accuracy, reliability, completeness, or timeliness of any information provided. This information is provided for information only. All information posted here should not be used as a substitute for the advice of an appropriately qualified and licensed lawyer.
Tennessee’s timeshare laws can be found in Title 66, Chapter 32, “Time-Share Programs and Vacation Clubs”. The state provides extensive protection for timeshare owners and purchasers through their advertising regulation, discouraging timeshare developers and salespeople from conducting advertising scams and fraud upon buyers. If you feel that you have been a victim of unscrupulous sales tactics, speak with a timeshare attorney to determining which course of action you should take next.
Canceling a Timeshare in Tennessee
Tennessee timeshare law 66-32-114 declares that both the purchaser and seller have a mutual right to cancel a timeshare contract. The right of rescission for the purchaser is up to 15 days if the purchaser has not toured the property prior to executing the contract. If the purchaser has toured the resort, he/she will have a 10 day-cancellation period.
Tennessee Time Share Advertising Fraud
In order to protect current and potential owners from scams or fraud, the Tennessee legislature has enacted specific advertising regulations governing developers and resale agents. Tennessee Code 66-32-132 contains the following:
- No timeshare advertisement may contain any prediction of a resale or rental program without inclusion in the timeshare contract.
- They may not provide false information as to how purchaser shall be able to use exchange program.
- Advertisements cannot include projects yet to be completed unless they are labeled as such.
- It shall be deemed unlawful to misinterpret facts or characteristics of the timeshare resort or plan.
- No salesperson may make any predictions to an immediate increase in the timeshare price or value.
Need more help with Tennessee timeshare law? Contact our timeshare attorneys at 1-800-242-0532 for assistance.
Free Case Evaluation
Tell us how we can help.
Call 800-242-0532 for immediate help.